25 March 2011

Wolves Thrown Off By Admirals, 4-2

Amtrak Rivalry

MILWAUKEE---The Chicago Wolves surrendered three straight goals after an early 1-1 tie and fell 4-2 to the Milwaukee Admirals in an Amtrak rivalry matchup at the Bradley Centre Friday night.

Forwards Ryan Garbutt and Spencer Machacek tallied goals for Chicago. Despite the loss, the Wolves won the Amtrak Rivalry trophy by winning the season-series against Milwaukee, six victories to four. Machacek was named the Amtrak Rivalry MVP after posting nine points (2G, 7A) in nine games against the Admirals this year.

Milwaukee (39-19-5-8) took a 1-0 lead 9:42 into the game when defenseman Grant Lewis grabbed the deflected puck outside of the crease and flicked it past Chicago goaltender Edward Pasquale.

Chicago (36-27-3-6) answered 1:08 later to knot the score, 1-1. Garbutt skated down the ice and ripped a shot that bounced off of Milwaukee netminder Jeremy Smith and trickled over the goal line at 10:50.

The Admirals pulled ahead to 2-1, 12:34 into the opening frame when left wing Dylan Hunter took a feed in the left faceoff circle and fired the puck beating Pasquale, glove side.

Milwaukee left wing Kelsey Wilson brought the score to 3-1 for the Admirals 8:35 into the second period. The forward took a feed in the slot from center Mark Van Guilder and shot a blast into the back of the net.

The Admirals pulled to 4-1 when left wing Gabriel Bourque skated to the doorstep and slid the puck behind Pasquale 9:02 into the final period.

Pasquale (9-8-1) thwarted 17 shots before being replaced by Peter Mannino who stopped the only shot he faced in 10:37 of relief duty.

Chicago brought the score to 4-2 when forward Michael Davies fed the puck to Machacek allowing the right winger to pop it behind Smith 11:40 into the third frame.

Smith (13-6-2) blocked 21 shots for Milwaukee.

The Wolves take on the Hamilton Bulldogs at the Allstate Arena on Sat., March 26 at 7 p.m.

Chicago 1 0 1 -- 2

Milwaukee 2 1 1 -- 4

First Period---1, Milwaukee, Lewis 6 (Ford, Bourque), 9:42; 2, Chicago, Garbutt 18 (Haydar, Sifers), 10:50; 3, Milwaukee, Hunter 2 (Bartlett, Flynn), 12:34. Penalties---None.

Second Period---4, Milwaukee, Wilson 10 (Van Guilder, Thuresson), 8:35. Penalties---Garbutt, Chicago (interference), 6:14; Flynn, Milwaukee (interference), 11:17.

Third Period---5, Milwaukee, Bourque 16 (Thang, Mueller), 9:02; 6, Chicago, Machacek 19 (Davies, Krog), 11:40. Penalties---None.

Shots on goal---Chicago: 11-6-6--23. Milwaukee: 11-6-5--22. Power plays---Chicago: 0-1. Milwaukee: 0-1. Goalies--Chicago, Pasquale (17-21) replaced by Mannino at 49:23 (1-1); Milwaukee, Smith (21-23). A---7,366. Referee---Jeff Smith. Linesmen---Brian Oliver and Mike Hamilton.